What is the Constitution of Virginia?

The Constitution of the Commonwealth of Virginia is the document that defines and limits the powers of the state government and the basic rights of the citizens of the Commonwealth of Virginia.

What are Articles in the Constitution?

The Constitution is set out in 12 different Articles or divisions that help define the separate powers of the executive, legislative and judicial branches of the state government.

How many times has the Constitution of Virginia been amended?

The original Constitution was enacted in 1776. In addition to frequent amendments there have been six major subsequent revisions of the Constitution in 1830, 1851, 1864, 1870, 1902, and the one currently in effect, in 1971.

How can I find the amendments to the Constitution?

When you are viewing any section, any amendments to the section since the last major revision in 1971 are listed at the bottom of the section. For example, when looking at Article 10, Taxation and Finance Section 6, Exempt Property, the bottom of that section has 8 amendments with the dates and specific amendments listed.